The Beauty of Photography

I’m really enjoying my time back home in Boston. I got to celebrate one of my very best friend’s birthday, dine at a new restaurant, indulge in sushi, spend time with family, and go to the MFA with my sister. Truth be told (and I’m embarassed to admit this), this was my very first visit to the Museum of Fine Arts and a memorable one to say the least. The MFA’s feature exhibit was Mario Testino: In Your Face (ends February 3rd) whose artistic ideas come to life through his lens. Testino is renowned in the fashion and portrait world of photography, and more specifically Vogue and Vanity Fair with photographic volumes of Kate MossHis photography is raw and delivers a story like none other; it’s impossible not to gravitate toward his works of art.

Kate Moss-Mario Testino

Speaking of art, Elle Decor put out a survey in their November 2012 magazine, capturing the pieces that some of America’s most talented designers and their clients yearn for. Of more than 400 members in the Designer Registry, 72% of respondents said art and antiques are essentials and that “they will make at least seven purchases in these categories within the next 12 months”. Art is certainly a purchase that holds value and often an investment piece. I’d love to find that perfect piece to sit on my walls that offers beauty, distinction, and that all around wow-factor and I’m not exactly sure what it will look like or who the artist will be but I am confident I will know it when I see it. I would, however, take a handful of Mr. Testino’s photographs! In the meantime, I suppose photographs of family, friends and weddings will do!

Do you have a favorite artist or purchase that you can’t live without in your home? Share it!

One thought on “The Beauty of Photography

Leave a Reply

